Driving Down The Memory Lane 

‘Motiya ka ittar’ is very favourite of mine. Once I took it from my Aunt’s dressing table and applied on my wrist. The fragrance stayed for very long. It was one of concentrated types. That night when I changed my sides while sleeping, I could smell it in my sleep. It was one of very lovely and refreshing moments. Since then my most favourite scent has to be that strong mottiya ka ittar. I was familiar with the smell as well but it used to be dilute and weak ones. It took me that night to make it special for me. My Aunt graciously gifted that to me later. I do not remember if I asked from her shamelessly. Although my sisters managed to break that specific bottle. I was so mad at them then. Last year after eid I went to my Nani’s home. It has to be my most memorable trip ever. I happen to make so much beautiful memories at that short span of time. I feel very grateful to Allah Almighty for that time period. Anyways I happen to find the same kind of itter bottle from my Nani’s cupboard. 
“Nani eyy main ley lana?”
“Lellay meray jan. Sara Kush tera eey aae.”
I have that bottle with me. And I feel glad that I have something physical that connects us two together, other that our loving bond and memories. She feels so in my life still. Her memories are so fresh and vivid that it feels unreal that she’s gone. Some times I just want to dial her phone number and expect to hear her from other side. I fear if my I start remembering and reliving her moments less. I fear if my memory start becoming less vivid. I wish her to stay very near my life as long as I am alive. I want to remember her smell, her touch, her voice and her embrace very clearly always. Just as I remember Mottiya buds stuck in her pierced ear lobes. Oldies do that here. 🙂 

About Rafia

I AM SPECIAL.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Driving Down The Memory Lane 

  1. At Least in my experience.. my Friend.. Rafiah..
    tHeRe is no time.. distance.. or space in Love
    Love iS oNe Force thaT iS evergreen when
    real.. and therE is no doubt tHeRe is that
    Love sTiLL between you and your Nani
    AliVe in YoUr eYes everlasting..
    And to celebrate that Love
    in WRiTing IS A liGht
    thaT iS also
    everlasting
    to inspire
    otHeRs along
    the path oF Love’s
    Journey as well that
    iS aLwayS noW when
    Healthy and iN BaLanCing
    NatUre.. my Friend.. Rafiah..
    iN my liFe.. friends that i have loved
    never age in heARt.. in SpiRit.. iN SoUl
    oF i.. nor do the troubles that come with
    Love last over the LoVinG pArts mY FriEnd..
    a young man who witnessed my rather informal
    proposition of Marriage to Katrina in a causal
    stand on Bowling Lanes of where i worked
    for the government over here in almost
    two decades of 80’s to past the
    turn of the century.. passed
    away from complications
    from Diabetes last
    Tuesday.. his name
    is Raymond and even
    though we never saw this
    man for years.. we both felt some
    kind of emotional Force of Loss on
    Tuesday well before we found out about
    his death today.. we are all connected my
    friend in so many ways more than just the
    flesh.. Love is Forever and more than
    we will ever understand with
    words alone..
    as trUly
    wE ARE ALL CONNECTED
    I N T E R D E P E N D E N T L Y
    FROM THE POINT OF THE NEVER
    ENDING.. NEVER BEGINNING ETERNITY
    OF ALLAH NOW.. AH.. YES.. IT IS ALL
    AH NOW.. MY FRIEND A LOVE WITH
    NO START OR ENDING.. ONLY
    NOW..aND can i prove that
    in empirical
    science..
    i don’t even
    care to my friend
    as i alWays want it to
    be too deep to ever put
    into words.. a depth of eYeS
    thaT alWays SinG A LovE SonG
    and DancE intimatELy TRuE IN LIGHT FoR aLL..
    mY Love filLED
    FriEnD Rafiah maY
    thiS liGht oF God’s Love
    as and in you rise to greaTesT
    heiGhts EVER MORE NOW..:)

Leave a comment